Pearl

The Parables of the Hidden Treasure and the Pearl: Matthew 13

“44 The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field. 45Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls. 46 When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.”

I was given a family name when I was born.  Margaret was the name of my great great grandmother as well as two of my great aunts.  I’m not sure if my parents knew the meaning of my name when they gave it to me.  For as long as I can remember, they have referred to me by the nickname “Maggie.”

I remember looking up the meaning of my name probably about ten years ago.  I thought it was cool that the name Margaret or Maggie means pearl, but I didn’t think much beyond that–that is, until about a year ago.

I have struggled with insecurity for a long time.  It is selfish, prideful, and most of my insecurities are entirely untrue (the rest are irrelevant), and yet, they feel like truth.  When attacked by an insecurity, nothing feels more real.  The funny thing about insecurity is that it tricks you into thinking it’s humility, but it’s actually nasty, disgusting pride that gets in the way of being the person the LORD wants you to be.  I believed I wasn’t good enough, that I wasn’t pretty enough, that I wasn’t like-able, that I wasn’t lovable.  Then a friend reminded me of my name.

Pearl: highly prized as a gem.

instapicsize

That same friend reminded me of the parable of the treasure (the pearl), and the joy of the man who found it: he sold all he had just to get it.

Of course, saying that I am the pearl is taking the parable out of context.  The parable says that the Kingdom of Heaven is like the pearl, but that, I think, is the most beautiful part of the story.  The gentle reminder of my name’s meaning and it’s Biblical reference not only reminded me of my inherent value in Christ, but it also gently showed me that I am actually not the important thing: that place is only reserved for my LORD.

The Pearl reminder has been an Ebenezer–a remembrance to fall back on–when my insecurities begin to intrude.  When pride sneakily creeps in to steel my joy and attack my impact, the LORD patiently reminds me that I do have value, and I am not the most important.

Also, I think if I ever get a tattoo it will be a pearl in an oyster.  Also, I should probably go to bed before I keep typing things that should not be published.


2 thoughts on “Pearl

Leave a comment